Bears v Devils Preview

The Essential Coffee Burleigh Bears will field a familiar side when they take on the Norths Devils in Round 1 of the 2019 Intrust Super Cup on Sunday at Bishop Park.11 of the 17 players named for Sunday’s clash ran out for the Bears in last year’s preliminary final, while the likes of Henare Wells and Josh Ailaomai are returning regulars.The ability to retain a core playing group and field a consistent group of players has been a huge asset for the club in recent years and should again prove useful in their Round 1 clash.

New recruit Jack Buchanan has earned a starting spot and will line up in the front row. Buchanan is a seasoned campaigner who has stints with the Wests Tigers, Widnes Vikings and Toronto Wolfpack to his name and is sure to add plenty to the Burleigh forward pack.Meanwhile, Api Noema has earned an Intrust Super Cup debut after a strong off-season and good showings in A Grade last season. He’ll line up in the second row. Titans representatives Morgan Boyle, Jai Whitbread and Darius Farmer will round out the squad, with all three named to come off the bench, while Jesse Savage has been named in jersey 18.

The Essential Coffee Burleigh Bears Round 1 clash with the Norths Devils will be streamed live on BearsTV. Head to the Bears Facebook page on Sunday from 3pm to watch live. Earlier in the day the Hastings Deering Colts side will take on the Devils in their first hit out of the season. They kick off at 1.15pm. The Mal Meninga Cup side also get their season started against the Devils. They will head up the M1 on Saturday for an 11.30am kick-off.

Finally, the local teams will take on Currumbin in their final weekend of trials this Sunday, with games at 11am, 12.30pm and 2pm. The Rugby League Gold Coast season is scheduled to get underway next weekend.
Essential Coffee Burleigh Bears – Intrust Super Cup Round 1 team list1 Kurtis Rowe 2 Troy Leo 3 Sami Sauiluma 4 Josh Berkers 5 Henare Wells 6 Dylan Phythian 7 Jamal Fogarty 8 Luke Page 9 Pat Politoni 10 Jack Buchanan 11 Hayden Schwass 12 Api Noema 13 Sam Coster 14 Morgan Boyle 15 Josh Ailaomai 16 Jai Whitbread 17 Darius Farmer 18 Jesse Savage Coach: Jimmy Lenihan


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *