National Womens Rugby League Championships

Pizzey Park will host the 2019 Woman’s National Championship with a host of Bears set to feature across the weekend.

The competition will run from Thursday through until Sunday with the best of women’s rugby league descending on the home of the Bears.

Competing teams include NSW Country, NSW City, Queensland Country, South East Queensland, Combined Affiliated States and the Australian Defence force.

In addition to competing for the title of national champions, this is also a prime time for players to stake their claim for State of Origin selection and perhaps even put a foot forward for an NRLW contract.

Burleigh coach Tahnee Norris is in charge of the SEQ team which features nine members of the Bears women’s team including skipper Tallisha Harden.

Harden will be joined by fellow Bears Tyler Birch, Millie Boyle, Tazmin Gray, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Laken Paitai, Amber Pilley and Zahara Temara.

The Bear-filled SEQ side take on the Combined Affiliated States at 12pm on Friday and NSW City at 12pm on Saturday.

The top two teams from each pool will then advance to the finals which will take place across the day on Sunday. NSW Country are the defending champions.

More Bears will be in action across town at Owen Park, Southport, as part of the QRL State Carnival tournament.

Two SEQ teams (White and Green) will compete against the Central and Northern Divisions. Sasha Mahuika, Akayla McQuire and Kadison-Tyra Robertson will all be competing for the SEQ Women’s White Team.

Key information

  • Dates: May 30 to June 2, 2019
  • Location: Pizzey Park, Burleigh

2019 Draw

Pool 1

  • South East Queensland (SEQ)
  • NSW City
  • Combined Affiliated States (CAS)

Pool 2

  • Queensland Country
  • NSW Country
  • Australian Defence Force (ADF)

Day 1 – Thursday May 30

  • 12.00pm – CAS v NSW City
  • 1.15pm – ADF v NSW Country

Day 2 – Friday May 31

  • 12.00pm – CAS v SEQ
  • 1.15pm – ADF v QLD Country

Day 3 – Saturday June 1

  • 12.00pm – SEQ v NSW City
  • 1.45pm – QLD Country v NSW Country

Day 4 – Sunday June 2

  • 10.30am – Third (Pool A) v Third (Pool B)
  • 12.00pm – Second (Pool A) v Second (Pool B)
  • 1.45pm – First (Pool A) v First (Pool B)

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *